Andrew Tarkovsky, Time Within Time: The Diaries 1970-1986

NEW METAPHOR BOOKS

Andrew Tarkovsky Time Within Time The Diaries cover
  • Andrew Tarkovsky Time Within Time The Diaries cover
  • Andrew Tarkovsky Time Within Time The Diaries interior spread 1
  • Andrew Tarkovsky Time Within Time The Diaries interior spread 2
  • Andrew Tarkovsky, Time Within Time: The Diaries 1970-1986
  • Andrew Tarkovsky Time Within Time The Diaries interior spread 3
  • Andrew Tarkovsky Time Within Time The Diaries case detail
  • Andrew Tarkovsky Time Within Time The Diaries back cover
  • $ 45.00
Andrew Tarkovsky, Time Within Time: The Diaries 1970-1986
Andrey Tarkovsky / designed by Lee Robinson
Seagull Books / 1991 / out of print / first edition / hardcover / 6.5 x 9.5 / 392 pp / color, b+w / eng / ISBN: 9788170460831 / weight: 2.2 lb
Condition: fair, reading copy, jacket shows shelf wear on edges, endpapers yellowing and spotting, smudges on fore-edge, spotting on front of case (see pictures above), top corners to some pages wrinkled

Description:
It’s not often that we gain access to an artist’s most intimate thoughts, hopes, dreams, and fears. It’s particularly uncommon when that artist is Andrey Tarkovsky (1934-1986) who directed only seven films in his fifty-four years and kept his personal and much of his professional life to himself. Fortunately he kept journals and filled notebooks for sixteen years beginning in 1970 up to his death from lung cancer in 1986. The diaries, which Tarkovsky called his Martyrolog, cover his years living and working in the Soviet Union and his life as an exile in Europe. They contain a remarkably wide range of concerns and preoccupations, including thoughts about his father, favorite novels, nightly dreams, personal correspondence, Soviet life, current events, and behind the scenes details about his films. The book also includes production plans for a theatrical production of Hamlet and a detailed treatment for a two-part film of Dostoyevsky’s The Idiot. For fans of Solaris, Nostalgia, and Stalker, this is your holy grail.

Success! You are welcome to continue shopping or go straight to your cart .

c